4 Things You Need To Know Before (Re)Starting a Blog

Blogging takes a lot of work. I absolutely cannot emphasise enough that blogging takes A LOT of work. I have started several blogs all of which to leave floundering out in cyberspace for all eternity. It’s a rather bad habit of mine. I have been toying with the thought of restarting an old blog of mine or continuing to put out blog posts on things that I, frankly, know very little about or possibly starting a whole new blog. Given the prospect of the amount of work an all new blog would be I have finally decided the manner in which I am going to continue blogging, and that is by taking up the reigns of my original blog that I have ignored for two, almost three, years now. Frankly, I cannot promise that I will or will not blog with any regularity, but since no one reads these damn things anyway I’d say that makes us about even. I also am not going to take the time to go back and re-edit my old posts…there they are, for all to see misspellings and all. There are some things you need to know about starting a blog…or restarting one before you commit to doing it, and here they are:

tumblr_mqzmgdsMIb1s4m325o1_500Don’t be surprised when no one reads them

Yep, you can pour your heart and soul into a blog post, and no one will read it, at least at first. It doesn’t much matter how well your post is or is not written (thought it’s better to err on the side of caution here and write your post well correcting spelling errors and such along the way) you have to write consistently for several months, even years, before it gains any audience. A small audience is particularly the case of niche blogs…niches are topics that are typically small so it’s no surprise that it can take a while to gain a following. Seriously, there aren’t many people interested in tattooing cars or collecting belly button lint so give it time before throwing in the towel. Furthermore, there are literally thousands of blogs out there…it will take awhile for someone to discover yours, give it the time it needs.

WU0801_Ree-Drummond.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide.landscapeNot Everyone Can Be The Pioneer Woman

Ree Drummond is the poster child for blogging success her blog is very well done, and thousands of people read it allowing her to parlay her success into a television show, series of books and her line of merchandise. You are not Ree Drummond, don’t try to be, be you on your blog, use your voice, express your thoughts and tell your jokes. While there are many things about The Pioneer Woman blog you could copy, and it’d be worth your time to do so…make your blog uniquely about you. One Pioneer Woman is quite enough.

It Takes A Lot of Time

I know I said it before, but it bears repeating blogging takes a LOT of TIME. I once went through a phase where I believed it shouldn’t take any more time to write a blog than to read it, crazy I know, but that line of thinking kept me away from blogging for over a year. It can take several hours to write a simple blog post, and I know it sometimes seems like time wasted, but if you are consistent and enjoy the process of writing then go for it and don’t worry about how much time it’s taking.

Which leads me to my final point…

20160331180223-businessman-typing-computer-laptop-writing-working-remotely-blogging-blogger-education-learning-connectingEnjoy the Writing Process

If you don’t enjoy the process, or if you’re just blogging to gain a following, or you’re just blogging to be internet famous, or if you’re just blogging to be the next Ree Drummond then you’re blogging for the wrong reasons…if you’re blogging because you enjoy writing then it won’t matter how many followers you have or how internet famous you are. For some, myself included, writing is just a better way to organize your thoughts and get things off your chest. I enjoy writing, even if no one reads it, even if I begin several blogs and leave them floundering about in cyberspace for all eternity. I do enjoy it, and it’s time to get back to it.

3 thoughts on “4 Things You Need To Know Before (Re)Starting a Blog

  1. Hi john,

    i know exactly what you mean by creating blogs and then disregard them. I’ve had my fair share as well.
    In my opinion it’s crucial to first figure out what drives you. What is your passion?

    since a short time i’ve decided to start a new blog too, but as we speak i’m still working on that.

    I know it sounds like a cliché, but especially because it takes a lot of time and hard work and most of all, patience. It can become successfull if you persevere.

    And when it comes to building an audience, start using social media very actively.
    Creating your posts is just about a quarter of the work as blogger. 3/4 of your job will be the marketing aspects and building a relationship with your readers.

    Great post though.

    Kind regards,

    Chris

Leave a Reply

