Resolutions

I know it’s about a week too early for this kind of post, but I’m going to do it anyway. I have been thinking a lot lately about what I am going to try to accomplish in 2012 and here is my list. I’m just trying to get the ideas out and written down before I forget, something I seem to be getting good at. So here they are my objectives for 2012:

Lose weight: since the last time I seriously dieted, back in 2009, I have gained back almost all the weight I lost then. I want to get back to the weight I was in high school-175. I’m thinking of doing a picture blog update and whatnot…just an idea, probably won’t follow through with that part of it though.

Write that book: I’ve been trying for years to write a book, I’m going to sit down and do it this year. I actually have several books in mind, a fiction, a non-fiction and a children’s book…I’m developing my characters for the fiction book now…I’ll keep you updated.

Work out more: This one sort of goes with number 10, but I want to gain back some of my muscles I had a couple of years ago, before I fell off the dieting wagon.

Enjoy my job more: I spend lots of time wishing I had a different job, something ministry related maybe, but I don’t…I work in the private sector…I don’t hate my job, it’s just that I don’t love it either, I just happen to be good at it. I’m going to take more time and enjoy it this year.

Have more fun with my kids: I spend lots of time with my kids bossing them around and not enough time enjoying them and having fun with them. I’m going to try to do that more in 2012.

Communicate with my wife better: I love my wife, I do…but I get this roadblock in my head when it comes to trying to talk with her about anything important, it fills me with anxiety to be honest…I’m going to work to overcome that this year.

To better express things that I think, but never say, to people in my life: I don’t know how many times I’ve thought something very complimentary or encouraging to say to or about someone but I never do. Maybe it will matter, maybe it won’t but I’m going to give this a try this year.

Spend more time in prayer: I’ve blogged about the importance of prayer before on my other blog…and this one too, I think…it really is the most under utilized weapon in the christians arsenal…and I’m going to be more intentional about it this year.

Learn to play the guitar: I won a guitar about a year ago and I’ve barely played it. I taught myself how to play Smoke on the Water and that was pretty much all I’ve done with it. I’m either going to learn to play the thing or sell it.

Join the worship team at church: I’ve been blessed with a pretty good singing voice. It’s nice and deep and I think I could really contribute to the worship team if they’d have me. I have this intense fear of signing in public that I’d have to get over first though.

Anyway, that’s about it for my list for this year. If you took the time to read this …thanks. What are some of your resolutions for 2012?

2 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. good & meaty post! 🙂

    Sounds like some good goals! Good luck!

    Also, a good way to get over fear/ anxiety of doing something is to do it! 🙂 Every time you do it, it gets easier!

Leave a Reply

