Stuff Christians Idolize

I love to read the blog Stuff Christians Like, I even bought the book appropriately titled: Stuff Christians Like. I find Jon Acuff’s humor regarding church folk and culture to be not only spot on in many cases, but downright hilarious at other times, and although probably unintended it’s often very convicting. However…does that mean I blanketly agree with all things Jon Acuff does or says? If Jon Acuff were to suddenly start giving mad props to the Pope for his cool white hat would I give him a fist bump and say “Yeah, I love pointy white hats” or if he said “The Shack was a great book, all Christians should definitely read it.” would I say:”Yeah, who cares if a book that’s supposed to be about God is theologically even remotely accurate…Jon Acuff says it’s a great book, that’s all I need.”

I wouldn’t do those things, Jon Acuff is just a man, and as a man he makes mistakes, I cannot blanket-ly agree with everything he says or does. The same is true for any other person whether I theologically agree with them on many, many points or not. (Mark Driscoll, John MacArthur, John Piper…etc…) Theologically I agree with these men on many points, but I can’t give the fist bump of approval to everything they say or do. Whenever we get stars in our eyes looking at men we are taking our eyes off of Jesus, the ONLY one who is worthy of our affections. No single person is worthy enough of our affections that we should take our eyes off of Jesus, not even for a second.

You are hopefully saying:”that makes sense” at this point…but what if instead of another person you get stars in your eyes over, the person is you instead? Does the picture look the same? Jesus said this in the book of Luke: “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple. Whoever does not bear his own cross and come after me cannot be my disciple.”
Hate…that’s a pretty strong word….everything in America for the past twenty or so years has been focused on tolerance instead of hate, but Jesus here says hate…hate your own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters…and even your own life. Jesus here is not saying that we should really hate your family or yourself…not really…to the point of harm or depression or anything, what he is saying is that we cannot place a higher priority on others or ourselves than Jesus. John Calvin once said: “The human heart is an idol factory” and that’s one truth you can see played out day after day, all around you. We are quick to make an idol of someone or something, even if it is a good thing the second we have placed a higher priority on that person or thing than Jesus we have sinned.

And I wouldn’t want to make Jon Acuff into an idol…that just wouldn’t be cool…or funny….and Jon Acuff is a funny guy…

Leave a Reply

