Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

Why aren’t there any more movies being made like Airplane? It had so many great lines, who could forget:

“Shirley you can’t be serious…” “I am serious and don’t call me Shirley.”

“A hospital… what is it?”  “It’s a big building with patients, but that’s not important right now”

“What kind of plane is it?”  “Oh, it’s a big pretty white plane with red stripes, curtains in the windows and wheels and it looks like a big Tylenol.”

“Roger, Roger. What’s our vector, Victor?”

“Cut me some slack, Jack! Chump don’ want no help, chump don’t GET da’ help!”

And one of my favorites:

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

Seriously though I think Hollywood is missing out on something here. But maybe the elements that make a movie that funny and memorable and great don’t come along that often. Maybe it’s like lightning in a bottle…or pouring salt on a bird’s tail…

Don’t tell me you never heard that one….

My dad used to say it to me all the time…”If you can get close enough to a bird to pour salt on its tail you can catch it.” He would say handing me the salt shaker…to which I responded by taking the salt shaker and chasing birds around the house for close to ten or twenty minutes before giving up. He would watch from the front porch and laugh and laugh…I was a pretty dumb kid.

I think we’re ready to laugh again at the movies, the same way we did at Airplane in the eighties. Hollywood needs to bring the funny back to the big screen.  I’ve seen plenty of movies that were promising and plenty were funny, but not funny the same way Airplane was funny. The humor in Airplane had an intelligence to it, the humor in movies today have all the intelligence of a junior high boy’s locker room and maybe that’s the main reason why Hollywood hasn’t produced another movie like Airplane. The suits in Hollywood believe that humor in movies has to appeal to the lowest common denominator.

As with all double standards though, Hollywood doesn’t carry over that same lowest-common denominator line of thinking to the television shows it produces, I can easily name half a dozen shows that are intelligent and funny…most of them are on NBC…but some are on CBS…and ABC to a much less degree.  I’ll write more about funny television in a different blog post…in the future…probably…but I’m a slacker so don’t hold your breath or anything…unless you like holding your breath for long periods of time, which can be quite a useful skill in say…swimming or changing dirty diapers.

What about you? What was the last intelligent and funny movie you saw? What was a movie you thought would be good and funny but was a bigger disappointment than being a Cubs fan in July?

Leave a Reply

